February seems as good a time as any to start….

I had every intention of starting this blog right at the beginning of the year.
I had illusions of kicking off my new home for my disjointed writing and my witty, acerbic observations at the same time I kicked off so many other shiny new things.

2011 was going to be my year. New job, new city, new apartment, new relationship status, new blog, new year. It was going to be big, I could feel something coming around the corner. I had ideas, goals, I was excited.

Then 2011 actually HAPPENED. And it was big, and epic and unforseen and brand new…all of the things I’d hoped for. Unfortunately, I got all of these things on the opposite end of the spectrum than I had anticipated.
In all of my wide-eyed excitement, I’d forgotten to inform the universe that I wanted all of those things in a positive light, and in relation to good things. Left without this direction, the universe had a 50/50 choice – positive or negative. And as with all one or the other choices, it picked the wrong one.

2011 spent the first five weeks kicking my ass relentlessly down into a brutal, sad, dark place. After week 5 and once the bad news stopped snowballing, I’d had enough and have decided that I will now be taking charge for the remaining 47 weeks and it will be better, thanks.

My year has sucked so far, but I intend to scrape it out of the gutter and salvage it with some writing from here on out, amongst other things. Which, you know, I’ll write about. This is my second blog, and hopefully it’ll turn into something I love as much as I loved my first one. No, I won’t link to it on here. The only thing I regret about the last blog was putting my name on it, so that it wasn’t anonymous.

So whereas it would have been oh-so-convenient to have kicked this off in January, here I am in mid-February. Mid-February, the nastiest time of the year, and enter…..’I Just Like To Write’. I really wanted to be one of those cool kids who had their shit together enough to start something when they said they would, but at least it isn’t August, right? I think the blog title is fairly self explanatory……I really just like to write. Some days it’ll be sappy, some days it’ll be all ‘omg the world is ending’, some days it’ll be funny, some days it’ll just be. But I’m excited to have  a place to write again, because I really do like it. I love words, I love language, I love adjectives…….yes, I’m a nerd. You’ll find out the extent of my nerdiness soon enough.

And there we have it, I guess. I’ve completed the obligatory first post, which is always scary and awkward in that ‘hey, I’m the new kid, who do I eat lunch with?’ kind of way, and it’s all going to be barreling ahead from here, kids!

Here’s to hoping this thing sticks….

6 responses to “February seems as good a time as any to start….

  • trisha

    Woot woot!! Congratulations! It looks and feels great!

    Best of luck and kudos for deciding to take control of your life, a lesson I am taking away from this as my life has been sucking incredibly lately also.

    Keep writing!!

  • Peter 'n' Bunny

    Here’s to hoping things get better soon and that your new little nest is a smash hit. I’m sorry to hear your year got off to a hop, skip and a splat. 😐 Mine was just the opposite, starting off super sweet, but here recently took a swift nosedive. I’m hoping to pull out of this tailspin and fast. Ok, off to read your next post. 😉

  • Captain Obvious

    Dear IJUSTLIKETOWRITE, Just you wait, 2011 is only getting started. In the words I once read on a funny t-shirt: If life gives you lemons, keep them, cuz hey, Free Lemons! If life give you melons, then you’re dyslexic.

    Glad to have found this nerdy wordy blog. I’ll be back!

  • theduffboy

    Continuing with Captain Obvious’s t-shirt motif: one very girly blouse or night shirt I bought and were every once in a while (true story!) says: “If life hands you lemons, squirt them in people’s eyes!”. That said, welcome back to the blogosphere, Talea… it wasn’t the same without you 🙂

  • February seems as good a time as any to start…. (via ijustliketowrite) | Duffboy

    […] I had every intention of starting this blog right at the beginning of the year. I had illusions of kicking off my new home for my disjointed writing and my witty, acerbic observations at the same time I kicked off so many other shiny new things. 2011 was going to be my year. New job, new city, new apartment, new relationship status, new blog, new year. It was going to be big, I could feel something coming around the corner. I had ideas, goals, I … Read More […]

  • Scott

    Great intro! And by the Lunar New Year (which starts February 3), you’re just a couple weeks late! And by the ancient Celtic New Year (which starts November 1) you’re very early!

Leave a Reply

